Kris Niyogi Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

May 03, 2016

One of the highest honors a scientist can achieve

Kris Niyogi, professor and chair of Plant & Microbial Biology, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors a scientist can achieve.Kris Niyogi (Photo by Kristian Dadacay)

Niyogi joins five other superstars from UC Berkeley who were also elected May 3, 2016. They include Ian Agol, professor of mathematics; Steven N. Evans, professor of statistics and mathematics; Robert M. Glaeser, emeritus professor; Susan Marqusee, director of QB3; and Peidong Yang, professor of chemistry.

Niyogi studies photosynthetic energy conversion and its regulation in algae and plants. He has one of the largest labs in the department, and is also a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

"This is an incredible honor, and I would like to thank all the past and present members of my lab who did most of the research that led to this recognition," Niyogi said. "Being a professor in the PMB department at Berkeley is my dream job, and I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to work with so many wonderful faculty colleagues, students, postdocs, research associates, and staff over the years."

Niyogi's long-term research goals include understanding how photosynthetic energy conversion works, how it is regulated and how it might be improved to help meet the world's needs for food and fuel.

The Academy announced today the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The Plant & Microbial Biology department now has 12 members in the National Academy of Sciences. They include Bob Buchanan, Robert Fischer, Michael Freeling, Sarah Hake, Steve Lindow, Peter Quail, Brian Staskawicz, Chris Somerville, Pat Zambryski, Kris Niyogi and in memoriam Daniel Arnon and Sydney Kustu.